As KL Rahul is ruled out due to injury, BCCI announces replacement for WTC final while uncertainty looms over Jaydev Unadkat and Umesh Yadav.

BCCI announces KL Rahul's replacement for WTC final, while Jaydev Unadkat and Umesh Yadav's fate remains uncertain

BCCI rules KL Rahul out of World Test Championship final due to injury sustained during IPL 2023, selects Ishan Kishan as replacement. Fate of Jaydev Unadkat and Umesh Yadav remains undecided as BCCI yet to make a decision.

During the IPL 2023 match between Lucknow Super Giants and Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Ekana Stadium, KL Rahul sustained an injury to his right upper thigh while fielding on May 1. Following consultations with specialists, it has been determined that he will undergo surgery at the earliest and subsequent rehab at the National Cricket Academy. The BCCI statement confirmed that Rahul is ruled out of the upcoming ICC World Test Championship (WTC) final against Australia. Prior to the BCCI's announcement, Rahul had already posted on Instagram three days earlier, expressing his disappointment about not being able to join the Indian team at the Oval next month.

BCCI Provides Update on Injuries of Unadkat and Yadav

Jaydev Unadkat's Injury

LSG fast bowler Jaydev Unadkat had suffered a severe injury on his bowling shoulder during a net session. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has sent him to the National Cricket Academy (NCA) for rehab and monitoring his improvement before taking any decision on announcing his replacement for the WTC final. The left-arm fast bowler is currently undergoing strength and rehab sessions at the NCA in Bengaluru, and a specialist consultation has been sought.

Umesh Yadav's Injury

Umesh Yadav, the Kolkata Knight Riders' fast bowler, had sustained a minor left hamstring injury during the IPL match against Royal Challengers Bangalore on April 26. The BCCI medical team is monitoring Umesh's progress closely, and he has started low-intensity bowling as part of his rehab process. The KKR medical team is also taking care of Umesh.

India's squad for WTC final announced along with three stand-by players

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced India's squad for the World Test Championship (WTC) final against Australia, along with three stand-by players. The squad is led by Rohit Sharma and includes other top players like Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, and Mohd. Shami.

The selected squad also includes Ishan Kishan as a replacement for injured KL Rahul. In addition, the three stand-by players named by the selectors are Ruturaj Gaikwad, Mukesh Kumar, and Suryakumar Yadav.

Here is the full squad list: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, and Ishan Kishan (wk).


(0) Comments
Log In